HVCA 17th Annual Entrepreneur & Deal of the Year Awards Gala

Thank you for joining us out at Waialae Country Club for a stunning evening honoring 2016’s biggest successes and innovation leaders. 

Check out photos from the night here

17th Annual HVCA Entrepreneur and Deal of the Year Awards Gala Recipients: 

  • Deal of the Year - Scott Mercer, Volta Charging
  • Investor of the Year - Dawn Lippert & Jill Sims, Energy Excelerator
  • Entrepreneur of the Year - Tina Fitch, Hobnob 
  • Life Science Entrepreneur of the Year - Jeffrey Yu, KinetiCor 
  • Student Entrepreneur of the Year - Kyle Chang, Health Tech Apps 
  • Clean Tech / Ag Entrepreneur of the Year - Jack Beuttell & Bobby Farias Jr., Kunoa Cattle Co
  • Corporate Intrapreneur - Ian Kitajima, OceanIt 
  • Tech Entrepreneur of the Year - Alex Cabello, AlgorithmHub 
  • Social Impact Entrepreneur of the Year - Donavan Kealoha, Kelsey Amos, & Olin Lagon, Purple Mai'a Foundation  
  • Startup Paradise Champion of the Year - Burt Lum & Ryan Ozawa, Bytemarks Cafe 
  • People's Choice Startup - Kainoa McGee, KMB Co. 
  • Island Innovator of the Year - Henk Rogers, Blue Planet Energy 


HVCA Awards Gala Sponsors '17 
Presenting Sponsor 
University of Hawaii System 
Award Sponsors
University of Hawaii System
American Savings Bank
Hawaii Technology Development Corporation (HTDC)
Sultan Ventures
Energy Excelerator
UH Shidler College of Business
Blue Startups
Entrepreneurs Foundation of Hawaii
Alaska Airlines
Hawaii Business Magazine
Reception Sponsor
Student Ticket Sponsors
Startup Capital Ventures
The Pacific Asian Center for Entrepreneurship at the Shidler College of Business
ProService Hawaii
In Kind Sponsors 
Paradise Beverages, Inc
Empowered Presentations
Kona Brewing Co
Pineapple Tweed
The Orchid Lei Company
Media Partner
Hawaii Business Magazine